Sobeck tops field of four in RC mayor race; courthouse issue failing

Final results are in and Rogers City has a new mayor. Sitting councilman Thomas Sobeck defeated three other challengers and is the new mayor of Rogers City, replacing longtime mayor Beach Hall, who chose not to run after six terms.

Sobeck garnered nearly 41 percent of the vote with 375 votes. Jerry Wagner got 200 votes while Deb Greene had 197 and Dana John LaBar had 149. Greene and LaBar were each council members whose terms will expire at the end of the year.

e_color_border = 'B0C9EB'; google_color_link = '164675'; google_color_bg = 'FFFFFF'; google_color_text = '333333'; google_color_url = '2666F5'; google_ui_features = 'rc:0'; //-->

In the council race for two seats, A.J. Przybyla with 652 and Ken Bielas with 618 earned the seats with Bill Stypek third with 292 votes.

With 15 of 17 precincts reporting, the proposal for a new courthouse is on the short end of a 1,949-856 count. The PICCOA millage request has 1,819 yes votes to 999 no votes.

Complete results will be in the next edition of the Advance.